Skip Navigation LinksHome > Events > Australian Food Awards > About > History


The Australian Food Awards was established by The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV) in 2016. The new awards were developed to build on the success of RASV’s Royal Melbourne Fine Food Awards program, offering broader opportunities for Australian producers to leverage success locally and internationally with the AFA’s national brand seal of excellence.

In consultation with leading food industry experts, RASV has consolidated the 16 RMFFA categories to eight overarching AFA categories, incorporating existing categories and classes and expanding the program to introduce new categories such as seafood and convenience foods.

RASV is committed to ensuring its competitions are industry-relevant and continue to evolve.