Board of Directors

The Board’s overarching objectives are to represent and serve the interests of members, guide and monitor the business and affairs of RASV, and implement good corporate governance structures consistent with relevant ASX governance principles.

President & Chair -  Matthew Coleman

Matt is the Chair and President of The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria, elected in 2016, having been a Director since 2011. Matt owns and lives on a commercial dairy farm in Gippsland with his wife Jo and their three children. He has an extensive background in government and private enterprise and holds a Bachelor of Agricultural Science, Master of Science in Agricultural Economics (Marketing) and a Graduate Diploma in Agribusiness. He also represents the RASV on the Joint Venture vehicle with the State of Victoria as a Director of Showgrounds Nominees Pty Ltd.

Deputy Chair - Dr Catherine Ainsworth

Catherine has considerable executive and Board experience, having held senior management roles in government, agribusiness, pharmaceuticals and specialist equine veterinary practice throughout her career. Catherine is currently a Non-Executive Director of Harness Racing Victoria and Racing Analytical Services, and the CEO of Pony Club Australia Ltd. Catherine holds both Bachelor and Masters degrees in Veterinary Science, an MBA from the University of Melbourne and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.
Catherine joined the RASV Board in 2017 and was elected to the role of Deputy Chair in March 2020.

Darrin Grimsey

Darrin Grimsey is Partner with EY’s Infrastructure Advisory team in Melbourne and a leading adviser on capital investment projects in Australia. Darrin has been Partner with EY for 12 years and before that he was Partner at pwc where he worked for 10 years. Darrin graduated in engineering from the University of Nottingham UK and has a master’s degree in management from University of Manchester UK. He is an affiliate member of the CPA. Darrin advised the RASV on its Joint Venture with the State in developing the Showgrounds.  Subsequently he has worked on several studies and business cases related to further investments at the Showgrounds.  Darrin is Chair of the Master Planning Board Sub-Committee and joined the RASV as a Director in 2015.


Noelene King OAM

Noelene is a farmer from the South Gippsland region of Victoria operating two farms, one a beef breeding operation and one a dairy heifer replacement operation. Having served considerable time on both the Berwick and Dandenong Show Societies, of which she is a Life Member of each, Noelene was appointed to the Council of the RASV in 1995 and recognised with Life Membership in 2017.  Noelene joined the Board of Directors in 2011 and is Chair of the RASV Foundation and a member of both the Nominations & Performance and Master Planning Board Sub-Committees, as well as the Beef Cattle and Poultry Committees. In 2008, Noelene was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia for service to primary industry through the agricultural show movement in Victoria, and as a mentor to youth within the rural sector.


Jason Ronald OAM

Jason is a farmer from the Tallarook region in Central Victoria and is President of the Seymour Agricultural and Pastoral Society. In the past, Jason has worked for the University of Melbourne, Ballarat University, Federal and State Governments and Qantas. In 2008, Jason was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for his service to the community through a range of social welfare, cultural, political and agricultural organisations. Jason sits on the Nominations & Performance Board Sub-Committee and is a member of the Heritage Committee. Jason is a Life Councillor, elected to Council in 1991, and appointed a Director in 2009.

Dr Peter Hertan

Peter has worked as a senior executive and Director in the Victorian Government including as Head of Sport and Recreation Victoria, Veterans Affairs and the Energy Efficiency Authority.  He has a BSc (Hon) degree from Melbourne University, a PhD from Monash University and an MBA from RMIT University.  Peter currently works as a consultant supporting Government, sports and community organisations, on strategic planning, governance and major construction projects.  He is presently a member of a number of Boards in the community and sport sectors.  Peter is the Chair of the Audit and Risk Management Sub-Committee.


Robert Millar

Robert Millar is a CPA Registered and Tax Agent and a director and secretary to over 60 companies.  Robert owns the firm TFR Group, specialising in Family and Corporate accounting, taxation and commercial matters. Robert has a long history of accounting and taxation knowledge and has been a CPA for almost 20 years. His interest in agriculture stems from the family cattle farm at Gruyere in the Yarra Valley region of Victoria. It was on this property that Robert began to appreciate the hard yards that many farmers go through. Robert has a deep understanding of the economics of agriculture and its social and economic importance to Victoria and Australia. Robert is a member of the Audit and Risk Management Sub-Committee and joined the RASV Board in 2019.