For the judging of the AICA, each class is assigned to a judging panel where entries will be blind tasted. Entries will be allocated a tasting order number, separate from their exhibit number to ensure the integrity of the judging process.

Coffees will be judged using a 60 point scoring system, with any gold medals awarded by a panel checked by the Head Judge for consistency. Any coffee awarded 54 - 60 points will be presented a gold medal, 49 - 53 points is a silver and 44 - 48 a bronze. 

The best gold medal-winning coffees of each category are then tasted and ranked using the Borda Method to determine the trophy winners. 

The judges may in their absolute discretion decline to make an award in any class. 

Judges for the AICA are selected from across the coffee industry and are engaged for their outstanding industry knowledge and expertise. 

Head Judge 2019 

Returning to the competition in 2019, Head Judge Melissa Caia, brings over 15 years industry experience and is the specialist barista trainer at the Coffee Academy at William Angliss Institute. Currently involved in national and state barista championships and various coffee events, Melissa enjoys sharing her skills, knowledge and experience mentoring future judges and coffee professionals each day. She will oversee several panels of judges to ensure the quality and integrity of judging is maintained.

Head Barista 2019

We also welcome back Adam Metelmann as Head Barista. Adam is an all-round coffee guy having devoted his life to coffee. A three time Regional Barista Champion in the highly regarded Australian Barista Championship, Adam will oversee a team of trained Barista’s ensuring all AICA exhibits are handled and stored to optimum conditions and will work in conjunction with Head Judge to ensure the smooth flow of the judging process.

“I always look forward to tasting the different expressions of roasting from the multitude of entries! It’s a barista’s dream come true to work with so many coffees in one place at one time.”

Head Barista Adam Metelmann

Head Barista Adam Metelmann

2019 Judging Panel


Adam Hills, Darks Coffee Roaster

Angela Millis, Seven Miles Coffee Roasters

Brent Williams, Zarraffa's Coffee

David Boudrie, FTA Coffee

David Burchett, Co-Lab Coffee/Griffiths Bros Coffee Roasters

David Mule, Aroma Cafe Group

Debra Knight, Knight Mattingly Coffee Roasters

Dominic Chicoteau, Seven Miles Coffee Roasters

Dragan Sestic, DramantiArtisan Roaster

Elisha Mauger, Senator Coffee

Fabio Mazzone. Coffee MIO

Gabe Tan

Glenn Bailey, Grinders Coffee Roasters

Guy Wilson, Langdon Coffee Merchants

Heesun Christina Lee, Atomic Coffee Roasters

Hugh McDonnell, Single O

James McKenney, Paradox Roasters

Jeremy Boxall, Cirrus Fine Coffee

Jeremy Regan, Foodco Group

Jessica Macdonald, Eighthirty Coffee Roasters, New Zealand

Jessica Read, Suntory Coffee Australia

Levent Doganay , Grinders Coffee Roasters

Markus Zvirbulis, Dc Specialty Coffee

Matt Dessaix, Richard Narrabeen

Mick Drzazgowski, Coffee 1862

Nancy Chen, Coffee Art School

Nic Michaelides, FTA Coffee

Nicole Maroush, Julius Meinl

Paul Asquith, Seven Miles Coffee Roasters

Penny Wolff, Wolff Coffee Roasters

Sacha Muchall, Grow

Sam McLoughlin, Soul Origin

Sharon Jan, Seven Miles

Tess Presso

Tony Macri, Coffee Brothers

Tony Strickett, First Crop Coffee

Zeta Grealy, ZETA'S Coffee

Associate Judges

Alan Zuo, Coffee Tech Ltd

Alex Petroulias, Kmcr

Chris Capponi, Service Sphere

Jabin Roper, Paradox Coffee Roasters

King Gao, Coffee Tech Ltd

Leon Ding, Coffee Tech Ltd