2021 Royal Melbourne Show Judging Panel

RASV prides itself on the quality and experience of judges invited to attend the Royal Melbourne Show Beef Carcase Competition.

Judge - Led Steer and Heifer Competition

Mr Geordie Elliot

The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV) is thrilled to welcome Geordie Elliot as the judge of the 2021 RMS Beef Carcase Competition.

Geordie has a broad range of experience in the livestock industry, growing up as a fifth-generation livestock producer on his family’s prime lamb and cattle business in south west Victoria. He is currently working as the Livestock Production and Nutrition Specialist for WesternAG, whilst also operating GC Livestock with his partner Crystal Bell, where they breed Murray Greys, show steers and GCL Boer Goats, exporting breeding stock and genetics all over the world.

Geordie is a long-term supporter of the Royal Melbourne Show, annually exhibiting both steer and stud cattle. He Judged the 2020 RASV Hoof and Hook Competition, held in Yea during September last year. Geordie has a broad knowledge and passion of the agricultural and livestock showing industries and has spent his life judging, preparing, and showing livestock all over the east coast of Australia and North America.

Judge – Schools and College Paraders Competition
Mrs Jo Mclaughlin

Jo’s passion for beef cattle has been the catalyst for her involvement in showing cattle all her life. Initially, Jo was involved her grandfather’s Beef Shorthorns and eventually her own Angus stud, which was established with her husband in 1995.

In 2007, Jo won the inaugural Royal Melbourne Show Gun Fitter Competition and has since returned to judge the Competition. She has judged beef cattle at the Royal Melbourne Show and numerous local Victorian shows, interstate at Bunbury (WA), as well as internationally at Reims, France.

A passionate advocate for youth in the beef industry, Jo has been involved in the South Australian Junior Heifer Show and Angus Roundup for many years. The RASV welcome Jo as judge of the 2021 School Paraders Competition.