There are a total of 63 classes in the Royal Melbourne Wine Awards, competing for a total of 32 trophies, including:

Best Sparkling

Best Riesling

Best Chardonnay

Best Semillon

Best Sauvignon Blanc 

Best Pinot Gris/Grigio

Best Single Varietal White

Best Sweet White Wine

Best White Blend

Best Rosé

Best New South Wales Shiraz (including ACT), Best Queensland Shiraz, Best South Australian Shiraz, Best Tasmanian Shiraz, Best Victorian Shiraz & Best Western Australian Shiraz

Best Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot or Blend of Associated Varieties

Best Single Varietal Red

Best Grenache

Best Shiraz/Cabernet Sauvignon Blend

Best Red Blend

Best Organic or Biodynamic Wine