State Shiraz Trophies

In 2019, RMWA introduces an innovation in the judging and awarding of Shiraz wines, the Best State Shiraz Trophies.

The Royal Melbourne Wine Awards (RMWA) is recognised both within the industry and by the general public as one of Australia’s most prestigious wine shows. It brings together the very best Australian winemakers and producers and is renowned as a benchmark of excellence in wine production.

With our commitment to ensure we are recognising and rewarding Australia’s best wines, the awards and our schedule continue to evolve to meet changing industry expectations regarding wine style, winemaking techniques and market dynamics.

Last year, we have reviewed and restructured how we award and recognise Shiraz. Shiraz is Australia’s most widely planted variety and the variety representing the largest number of RMWA entries and we now award trophies for the Best Shiraz in each of State and Territory.

The six (6) trophies are awarded to the highest scoring gold medal-winning Shiraz wine from each state and territory.

The trophies are: Best New South Wales Shiraz (including ACT), Best Queensland Shiraz, Best South Australian Shiraz, Best Tasmanian Shiraz, Best Victorian Shiraz and Best Western Australian Shiraz.

The winners of each state trophy are tasted off against each other to award the Trevor Mast Trophy for Best Shiraz, adding to the prestige of this fantastic award.

Multi-state Shiraz wines will still be eligible for the Trevor Mast Trophy for Best Shiraz, with the top gold scoring multi-state shiraz wine tasted off against the state trophy winners.

Now more than ever before, the diverse nature of Australian Shiraz will be celebrated as part of Australia’s leading wine Show, the Royal Melbourne Wine Awards.