Why Should I Enter?

The Royal Melbourne Wine Awards (RMWA) presents wine-makers large and small with the chance to enter their products and have them benchmarked by industry experts.

Year after year, leading Australian winemakers compete for major awards and the chance to establish prestigious RMWA credentials in the nation’s most respected wine awards program.

The RMWA boasts the country’s most renowned individual wine award - the J.C Watson Memorial Trophy for the best one or two-year-old red wine. The ‘Jimmy’ is named after Melbourne’s much-loved Carlton wine merchant and wine bar owner.

The RMWA Presentation Dinner is Australia’s premier wine event, built on a longstanding tradition of celebrating excellence and innovation in Australian winemaking.

2019 Highlights

The Royal Melbourne Wine Awards (RMWA) introduces 10 new trophies in 2019:

  • Best Sauvignon Blanc
  • Best Pinot Gris/Grigio
  • Best Grenache
  • Best Australian Capital Territory Shiraz, Best New South Wales Shiraz, Best Queensland Shiraz, Best South Australian Shiraz, Best Tasmanian Shiraz, Best Victorian Shiraz & Best Western Australian Shiraz

The esteemed and much-anticipated Royal Melbourne Wine Awards (RMWA) Presentation Dinner will be held on Thursday 17 October 2019 at Victoria Pavilion, Melbourne Showgrounds, bringing together the very best Australian winemakers and producers to celebrate excellence in wine production.

RMWA exhibitors are provided with opportunities to profile their wines including at the RMWA Presentation Dinner, Exhibitor and Trade Tasting event.